Skip to content

Yes we did!

November 5, 2008
The new Leader of the Free World

The new Leader of the Free World

(image: CNN.com)

If you’ve talked politics with me any time over the past two or three years, you’ll know that I was incredibly happy with and proud of America when I woke up this morning. I can’t say that I never thought I’d live to see a black President…mostly because the thought never even entered my mind until Barack burst on the scene. I’ve read both of his books, I’ve followed his every move since four years ago’s Democratic National Convention (below is the YouTube video) and I’ve wished that he could be the next Leader of the Free World.

“There is not a liberal America and a conservative America. There is the United States of America.” Amen. Amen!

So you can say you’re moving to Canada (you won’t). You can say the world’s gonna end in the next four years (it might, but that won’t have anything to do with last night’s results). You can say he’s inexperienced (What experience can you have for stepping into the White House unless you’re going on your second term?)

I’ll still be here, cheering on a new America. A changed and changing America. And yes, I’ll still wear my Obama t-shirt and have my “Obama/Biden 2008” bumper sticker. Today is an historic day. Today is a great day. And most of all, today is a new day. Get ’em, Barack!

Leave a Reply

